MGP Ingredients Marks 100th Anniversary of Prohibition with Release of Remus Volstead Reserve Bourbon

RVR-Bottle-Render-trans-smallGeorge Remus Distilling Co. of MGP Ingredients (Lawrenceburg, Indiana) has officially announced that it will begin the one-time Limited Release of Remus Volstead Reserve, a 14 Year Old Straight Bourbon Whiskey, in November 2019.

Releasing to coincide with “the 100th anniversary of the start of National Prohibition – under the Volstead Act – that enforced the 18th Amendment outlawing the production and distribution of alcoholic spirits in the U.S.”, Remus Volstead Reserve is “bottled-in-bond from 2005 bourbons crafted at MGP’s historic distillery in Lawrenceburg, Indiana.” Bourbon lovers can expect this 14 Year Old Straight Bourbon Whiskey to greet them with “aromas of dried candied fruit, caramelized pecans, oak, char and tobacco.” Once sipped, Remus Volstead Reserve (100-proof) opens with “robust and rich oak flavors”, is balanced by “cherry and caramel touches” and finishes with “pleasant notes of leather and spice . . . [while] oak and barrel char notes linger until the next sip.”

“Prohibition launched an era of social change which created legends such as George Remus, King of the Bootleggers, and a speakeasy culture that persists to this day,” says Andrew Mansinne, Vice President of Brands, MGP Ingredients. “Remus Volstead Reserve is made from our finest 14-year aged reserves and has spent the same time in barrel as this country spent under Prohibition. Like this singular historic era, our Volstead Reserve is one-of-a-kind.”

Remus Volstead Reserve will officially release in November 2019 as a one-time Limited Release that “will never be repeated.”  This incredibly special Bourbon will be packaged in a “high-end glass bottle and commemorative box” and will retail for the suggested price of $199.99 per 750-ml bottle.  You can expect to find Remus Volstead Reserve on shelves at fine liquor retailers located in Tennessee, Texas, Indiana, Arizona, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio and Wisconsin. Prost!